top of page

AIP1 FINAL PIECE

For the final piece, I decided to first evaluate my works and progress throughout AIP1 (Art Integrity Program 1). I came to the conclusion that sometimes I still struggle when it comes to letting go of control and letting myself be immersed in a painting. To me, it was always, "How am I going to finish this?" or "will it be good?" or "will people like it?"

Sometimes, I was so consumed with working towards a final look that I wasn't appreciating the process enough. And isn't abstraction about letting the inner eye see?

After coming to this conclusion, I tried to let myself go in this final piece. Just like in Session 3, I defined the painting with a short poem:

"Devoid of function, it is appreciated for itself

Devoid of form, it is limitless

Art for art's sake"

This poem was somewhat influenced by Oscar Wilde's musings on art---though it is more likely he referred to art as in the ideal, and not just fine arts.

Then I covered it with a layer of yellow, and proceeded to create lines on it, thick and thin, in various directions, following nothing but my instinct.

Blue, and then white, and then dark red, in a style I would draw with when I am only half-conscious.

Every line represented myself, because these are expressions when in the state of not thinking, consumed only by an unexplainable need to draw, draw, draw.

Then I used a paint roller and applied blue, purple and silver.

Explosions in magenta and green acrylic, as well as white textile paint for its liquidy texture. Added a little bit of gold and black paint on rollers.

The final piece. A pure manifestation of the feelings and sensations of that moment.

Overall, I am happy for how long I've come in this Art Integrity Program. I started with fear, fear of making a mess, or making a mistake, or simply fear of not being good enough. I realised it was getting in the way of my art, and it was no longer self-expression. Having gone through the Art Integrity Program, I have discovered many things I did not know about myself before, and many things about art that I've never even considered. I learned how to look for beauty in ordinary things. I learned about the various aspects of a painting---the thoughts that go behind it, and the thoughts that it represents. I learned how to manage my time better, how to innovate materials, how to collaborate, how to receive criticism, and first and foremost, how to express myself.

bottom of page