top of page

INTRO TO TYPO(graphy) - living in a train, free money, and bear-phobia

If you had all the money in the world, what would your ideal home look like? Where would it be? What is it surrounded by? How many bedrooms are there? What do the insides look like? The walls, the living rooms, the bedrooms?

How big are the windows?

What does your front door look like, and what is it made of?

Is there water nearby? How does plumbing work?

Who would you leave your house keys with?

If you walk out, and see a big black bear (try saying that three times fast), what would you do?

Say that the bear is gone, and you walk across the driveway, but you see a giant wall that you can't get past through, what would you do?

These were the questions we were supposed to answer in last week's Intro to Typo(graphy) class, as a sort of exercise-before-an-exercise thing.

The questions are supposed to be psychological, I think. I remember taking an IQ + psychological test a couple of years ago and they told us to draw a tree, a house, and a person. To this day I still don't know what it means, but it's interesting how they supposedly can unlock a whole brain of personalities just by looking at your drawing. In the end I drew a close-up of a birdhouse on a tree branch, with a face looking up at it. I swear they think I'm nuts.

BUT I DIGRESS!

I'm the kind of person who loves to be on the move. Walking, hiking, riding a motorbike---these are my favourite ways to de-stress. So that's kinda how I came up with the idea of a train-house. Since I live a few cities away from UIC, I have to take the train. And although it smells like broken dreams and job requirements, I love the motion.

Being on a train is like being in a time machine---the world goes by in seconds. I once told a friend that if heaven does exist and it is shaped according to our utmost desires, than mine would be an eternal train ride, watching the world from behind windows, observing but never being a part of it.

If I were granted unlimited money to build the house of my dreams (cheesy tagline but...!), I would build a railway around the world, kinda like in Snowpiercer, except that movie is scary as sh*t. Then I would buy four carriages and refurbish them into a "home away from home" (gotta love these cheesy taglines).

Click on image to enlarge.

These were my initial sketches. If you're going to live in a train, everything has to be compact, lightweight, and practical. For example, I decided to eliminate the living room for a kitchen, which basically does the same thing, plus provide food. I also spent sometime planning the All-In-One bathroom, where you can shower, bathe, choose your clothing, and immerse yourself in dazzling hubris with the all-around life-size mirrors like the secret celebrity you are.

The final overall sketch and front door. Existing trains are made out of aluminium because it is lightweight, and I want to make my train-home look as authentic as possible.

Welcome on a virtual (albeit two-dimensional) tour of my "dream home"...

A very fun project overall. I enjoyed working out the compact details. Let's be real though, if I had unlimited money, I would donate it to humanitarian causes first, right? *winkwink*

bottom of page