top of page

Making Boxes and Books, and the Day I Discovered I Can Be Neat

Comping Techniques updates are long overdue. For our first class workshop, we were asked to create Japanese bindings, which is like a regular book except it has a naked spine (so instead of being covered at three sides, it only has two sides---the front and back cover). We had to create two books: an A5 journal and an A4 workbook/visual diary (by the way, I'm still getting used to the terms "visual diary" and "visual blog", which is why I keep forgetting to post).

We made the covers out of duplex boards, or cardboard boards (redundant?), depends on where you're buying the material. First we cut them into the desired size (A5 or A4).

Then we had to create two smaller pieces for each book, the same length but only 2 cm wide. This will be the parts we will sew on.

Then we drilled holes in the papers and boards to make sewing easier (I don't fancy plunging a needle into 180 sheets of paper + two cardboard layers, thank you).

And finally, the sewing process itself. One important characteristic of the Japanese binding book is that it looks very DIY.

It looks unpolished in a polished way, if there is such thing. I like the fabric as well, and the colour combination between the blue and red (and orange interior). This A5 binding contains 180 pages.

After that was done I went on to work with the second book, the 120-page A4 visual diary. I wanted to do something a little bit different and used paper to cover this one up. I also cut out duplex pieces to create spires. Paper was harder to work with, but I wanted to feel the difference. First of all, paper is easier to stain, so I can't place it on a table without worrying about getting caught with lint or dust. Also, it accentuates creases so you have to be EEEEEXTRA careful.

And here are some details I put into the A5 binding, a.k.a. the journal:

We also had to create packaging boxes to place the two books in. Since I forgot to bring fabric to class, I couldn't finish it then, but I'll update you in the following week.

The hardest part was gluing the pieces together, we ran out of three tubes of superglue (we call it lem korea) in the process. It soaked the duplex boards, and stung our fingers if they came into contact. The only consolation is I'll be able to cover everything with fabric later on!

Overall, I am quite happy with Comping Techniques. When I first came to class I thought it would be the most BORING class ever and I might even fail it, since I am NOT a neat person. Turns out... I can be! Once I started using a ruler and penknife properly, it became enjoyable. It also gave me more freedom. There's something satisfying about holding a Japanese binding book in your hand and thinking, "I actually MADE this thing." It might also have influenced one of my recent artworks, Punctured.

Stay tuned for updates on that box... I have a few unusual ideas in mind, let's see if they actually work out.

bottom of page