top of page

WSP (Wearable Sculpture Project) - brainstorming and looking at weird jewelry

For our Principles and Elements of Design final assignment, we were tasked with creating wearable sculptures based on one of the following emotions: Anger, Love, or Sorrow. The purpose of the sculpture is to convey the essence of whichever emotion we chose.

First I had to brainstorm, of course. Which adjectives describe each of the emotions? What materials can I use? I didn't want to choose right away, so I made mind maps for all three emotions:

I know it's not a typography project, but illustrating the words helps me visualise the emotions.

-

I also browsed through a book of modern jewelry designs (jewellery?) I actually have a phobia of chains, so I don't even want to LOOK at necklaces/bracelets/the like, but thankfully modern means less tacky, and chains are terribly tacky.

That's it for now. I suppose you'll be seeing a lot of updates on this project because we have to make prototypes/sketches and stuff. It sounds like a lot of work, but also a lot of exploration, which I like.

Thank the Flying Spaghetti Monster it's Friday y'all!

bottom of page