top of page

WSP - Folding Metal

LET DA GAMES BEGIN. Literally. I will be doing nothing but material exploration for the next two weeks. For my last class, I practiced folding metal and sticking them together, experimenting with superglue and silicone. Also, I did some sandpapering. It was easier than I anticipated... which was sort of disappointing... but I digress!

Different sandpaper effects. The one on the left has larger granules and is coarser. The one on the right is smoother, with smaller granules. You can tell it produces a much smoother surface too.

I cut out sheets of roofing into small, irregular pieces, 3 cm wide at most. Then I experimented with folding, bending, and twisting them.

Superglue is great if you're going to stick flat surfaces, and it dries pretty quickly. Warning: it will peel off your epidermis. However, I can't seem to make it work for pasting sharp corners. It's just too runny. So when it comes to sticking smaller, more delicate pieces, silicone is what I use. The only downside to this is silicone takes forever to dry up, if at all. It stays pretty much squishy. Also, the silicone gun I use has a HUGE nozzle, much too big for delicate pieces. So I had to use my fingers, which is a pain.

That thing's goddamn beautiful.

I think my next experiments will be with nails and aluminium. My friend told me that you can actually tear aluminium plates apart, which makes for interesting effects. I might also get a blowtorch somewhere and experiment with that.

Goodnight y'all.

bottom of page