top of page

Exploring Different Types of Adhesives

In one of my WSP posts, I used silicone as an alternate to superglue. Well, today, we're adding another adhesive to that equation. Welcoming the two-part adhesives!

The solution requires you to mix two substances together. The black/grey substance (depends on the brand you're using) is the adhesive part. It's a sort of resin that starts of goopey and gluey but dries into a hard, metal-like substance. To dry it, you will need its counterpart, a white substance with similar texture, but this one aids in drying the mixture a lot quicker.

I like to squeeze a bit of it on an unused surface, then mix it with a toothpick (or the edge of a brush). Once mixed, it turns grey, with a texture that resembles gooey rubber, and you must apply this quickly before it dries.

The reason I chose to use this adhesive is because liquidy superglues such as Alteco is not strong enough (and they burn your eyes), while UHU superglues create too many bubbles. Silicone is relatively stronger, but it takes ages to dry. This two-part adhesive is very, very strong, and it only takes about five minutes to solidify into an unmovable substance.

What is this two-part substance good for? Well, I'm glad you asked...

I once told my friends that if I ever get married, my ring will be tattooed on because it embraces the true meaning of eternity. Nope, those things don't come off, so you better be sure your marriage is going to last as long as it does. As amusing as that is, the idea of a ring made of nails is intriguing. For one, nails scream anger very well. Secondly, I know for a fact that these nails will rust in about a weeks time, and rust is the first thing that comes to mind when I hear the word "corrosive".

So I made two nails compositions, and turned one into a ring.

Nailed it!

Please laugh.

I guess technically this could qualify as my final project, but things don't stop there...

bottom of page