top of page

LABYRINTH Font - Inspirations, Poster and Booklet Layouts

For our final assignment, we had to create a brand new font, as well as a poster and booklet to display them. In my last post, I detailed the process of creating Labyrinth, a maze-like font inspired very much by Bauhaus.

For my layouts, I wanted to focus on the fonts themselves instead of any tacky knick-knacks. The Labyrinth font is intended to be different but versatile, complex yet refined. It is named "Labyrinth" because it resembles mazes, but what makes labyrinths different from mazes is that labyrinths are elaborate structures, whereas mazes refer to the puzzle that is within a labyrinth. As such, my font is intended not only as a complex form but as a structure.

EXAMPLES OF LABYRINTHS IN ANCIENT CULTURE

Click for explanation.

Since the font is inspired by Bauhaus, I thought it would be great to draw inspiration for the poster from the Bauhaus and De Stijl era.

BAUHAUS

Click on image to enlarge.

Also known as Staatliches Bauhaus, it was an art school in Germany that combined crafts and fine arts. In the world of graphic design, typography is the bauhaus' greatest legacy. Among other characteristics that define the bauhaus, readability is never sacrificed for aesthetics, and the layouts focus on clean, powerful placings that rely on the manipulation of space.

DE STIJL

Dutch for "The Style", also known as neo-plasticism, De Stijl went for pure abstraction by eliminating unnecessary forms and reducing everything to the most basic shapes and colours. It often uses only horizontal and vertical lines, as well as red, black, blue, yellow and white. A famous De Stijl artist is Piet Mondrian, who is known for his rectangle compositions. The relationship between the negative and positive elements in a composition is what makes De Stijl so striking.

With these examples in mind, I went on to creating the poster and booklet.

Figuring out the arrangement of the font name.

Composition trials:

Font trials (for my name):

Creating the booklet in Adobe InDesign CS6:

As I have stated, I want the concept and process behind the font to be emphasised in this project, that's why I put each letter's templates next to them.

Since I have put waaay too many images on this one post, I will put the actual poster and booklet (and their trial and errors) in a seperate post.

SOURCES

bottom of page