top of page

Aperture Effects - Depth of Field


We spent a few classes familiarising ourselves with the three columns of photography---IOS, shutter speed, and aperture. I've already written an extensive blogpost about my research and trial-and-errors, so read that!

Aperture, a can be seen in the diagram above, is the space through which light enters the camera. A large aperture (or low number) results in shallow DOF, whereas a small aperture (or high number) yields a high DOF.

A few examples on aperture and depth of field:

WIDE VS. SHALLOW DEPTH OF FIELD

As can be seen in the two pictures above, the first one was taken using the lowest aperture on my camera (F5.6), whereas the second one used the highest aperture (F36). The first one puts its focus only on a few bats, but in the second one we're able to see all of them, plus the pattern on the concrete, plus the bleachers. Imprrrrrrressive.

Second trial, exclusively bleaches. Can you tell I like bleaches? Oh, and we chatted with the guy with the 31 shirt. He told us that baseball players that were on that day were from the local team. They practice everyday except for Mondays and Fridays. That's pretty crazy if you ask me. They joined T-Ball when they were kids, and the all-stars were selected for the local, and then national, team. The youngest among the bunch is 15, while the oldest is 24. The female players were practicing in the next field, though I didn't get very good shots of them. There were about 20 male players practicing, whereas there were only like ten females there. I admire anyone who's willing to give up their lives for sports, really.

And my final trial. Now, this would've been an awesome comparison if the boy, who is my three-year-old neighbour by the way, had not moved his head in the second shot. But as he did, and it became blurry, my lecturer would not accept it. Dammit!

Still, we're going photo hunting on Saturday, so I might still redeem the shots. Till then!

bottom of page