top of page

CUBISM and Other Ways to Shock People

For my cubism weekly assignment, I wanted to do something out of the box (as always) that will shock people. I mean, you see cubist works on paper and canvas everyday---though that's not a bad thing, I wanted to shake UIC up a bit. And what better way to do that than to paint your whole face and scare people off?

Introducing Raras, everyone.

It definitely got a reaction. Everyone loved it. I used face crayons, which were sort of falling apart as they were half-melted. Also, maybe I should've put foundation on first or something to create a nice base. Noted for the next projects!

This weekly assignment was done over a month ago, maybe two months, but you can definitely see how it has influenced a lot of my work---my Intro to Photography final assignment, for example, or the self-branding community project I created for this class.

Some process shots:

Trials the night before:

Very fun, I think I achieved the goal!

bottom of page