top of page

"The Metamorphosis" - Visual Interpretation


And heeeere is the final video! A little story behind this, I was completely dead-set on doing a few other animations before this, but 48 hours before the submission day, I completely changed my mind.

Why? Because I didn't feel as if my last two animations really captured the essence of "The Metamorphosis".

So even though I lost sleep over this, I'm glad I took the risk because I'm much more satisfied with THIS animation than the other ones I did. This one is more direct, yet still reads between the lines. The video consists of components that are an integral part of the story, either directly or indirectly. For example, the rotten apple symbolises the decaying relationship between Gregor Samsa and his family (also worms are sometimes referred to as pests to fruit, just as Samsa turned into a pest animal). Remember that one passage where his father attacked him with a bunch of apples? The girl symbolises innocence, or the lost thereof---this was inspired by Samsa's sister, whom he felt a deeper connection with than the rest of his family. Samsa wanted to send his sister to the conservatory, but all dreams were wiped off when he became a liability to the family and his sister had to work to compensate. As you watch the video, you'd notice that the pictures were starting to transform---I put subtle transformations here and there, editing the pictures using Photoshop. For example, the Queen of Hearts in the beginning popped up again, this time holding an insect spray, and as an insect herself. The end shows the objects rippling into a static image---all notions and thoughts blurring together into one.

The song, "Hey You" by Pink Floyd, derives from their animation/play called "The Wall", wherein a guy alienates himself from the outside world by building an imaginary, and sometimes physical, world around himself. However, it backfires, and the guy finds himself shouting to people over the wall, hence the title "Hey You". I do suggest watching it---it's a bit bizzare with snippets of animation and real-life action, but as with everything Pink Floyd does, fucking mindblowing.

None of the pictures are mine, by the way. They all belong to Pixabay, though I did modify or trace most of them.

I was so preoccupied with the video that I did not take many screenshots, but here are some.

Me trying to save the first part of the second prototype:

Screenshots of me using Adobe After Effects CC:

Seperating the image into three seperate components so they can be animated in Photoshop CC:

Finally, a SWOT analysis of my work.

Strength

The video delivers the idea well. It's direct enough that vague viewers can immediately grasp the tone of the book (through the music and sombre themes). However, it's also complicated enough, with images derived both from direct observation and reading between the lines, that if you choose to analyse it, you'll find subtle themes and meanings in it. It's dark and captivates the black humour through juxtaposition, such as the contrast between the soldiers (Kafka wrote the book in a time when Anti-Semitism was high and violence wasn't uncommon) and the innocent little girl. Also, my lecturer really likes the metaphysical feel of it, and I really like playing with perspectives---you think that this image is in front of that one, but then something else pops up in the middle---playing with the eye's expectations.

Weakness

Technical problems---the images sort of breaks apart when one zooms in. Also, I wish I could use original images somewhow, kinda like what I did in Contextual. However, I was short on time, and finding my own images was out of the question in order to deliver what I wanted. Still, all is not lost---I did credit its owners (the website) properly, as well as the song. I also wish I had come up with the idea maybe a week or so before the submission date, so that I had more time to perfect it and maybe not lose as much sleep (though I probably still won't sleep anyway, you know me).

Opportunities

I created this video with a specific audience in mind---those who love the bizzare, the mindblowing, the indirect. This is reflected well in the graphics and the music. This video would do well in that particular market.

Threats

The only threat against this video is probably people who prefer less dark interpretations, or people who did not fully understand the central themes of the book. Otherwise, I think most people would enjoy it.

Final thoughts? I really enjoyed in Visual Communications in Art & Design. I think I may want to consider a future in film. I like interpreting indirect ideas directly, and I also love to incorporate movement in my artworks---so why not make the movement an artwork?

There's not much more to say, so I hope to see you all in the next term!

bottom of page