top of page

Discovering Custom Brushes


Let's take a break from headsplitting neon strobes and do a happy post, shall we? I attribute the success of my poster to custom brushes, and let me just say---HOLY SHIT WHERE HAVE YOU BEEN ALL MY LIFE.

LOOK AT THIS.

CLOUDS THAT LOOK BETTER THAN ACTUAL CLOUDS.

I want to become a digital version of myself and live in Photoshop.

LOOK AT THAT. So flawless. So beautiful.

HOW CAN YOU NOT.

ERMAHGERD.

THIS. ONE. Looks like it could totally be Voldemort's sidekick. Or play a cameo in The Nightmare Before Christmas.

Sweet wispy nothings.

Poofy cotton candy floaties.

Got them off Brusheezy, these are 24 cloud brushes by Mila Vasileva. Whoever you are, you are amazing and I love you. May you live a long life and eat cheeseburgers every day.

I also got a broken glass collection by Artistmef, because I originally wanted to recreate that shattering glass effect from the Insurgent poster.

If you encounter this problem, simply quit Photoshop and double-click the file. This will make everything work perfectly. Also, I find it handy to Append brush collections instead of Replace them, so that you don't lose your downloads. I can never remember where I store them, or if Photoshop even stores them at all.

So yeah, cloud brushing.

Look at all that sh-sh-sh-sh-shattered glass.

A few extra ones I got, Shattered Glass Brushes by nadaimages, some of it pictured above:

Splash 4 by Artistmef. I also noticed a few Pollock brushes, really interesting.

Water splatter brushes by LoveScrapbooking. I feel like I could download every single brush on that site. It's kinda like The Sims 3 mods, once you start using one, YOU WANT THEM ALL. Though that one is justified because the game is crippled and cannot run without mods. Error 12? Fuck no. Play right and get 'em mods.

I didn't actually get this one, but it looked pretty. So there.

Anyway. Applying those brushes onto the real poster.

This post is so picture-heavy already I'm surprised your window hasn't crashed. As it is, I'll be extending everything into another post, so st-st-st-st-st-stay tuned!

bottom of page