top of page

Subheadlines

Shortest title in the history of my blog.

It was Tuesday night, we just finished our final exam and I was all snuggled up under the covers and half-dreaming of the shitload of assignments that still had to be done. It was at that very moment, my dear readers, that I remembered I forgot to use Paragraph Styles to create the subheadlines. No, I just simply put them in seperate text boxes from the main body text.

On my final exam.

*cues obscene swear words*

The reason behind this simple error is: I had originally wanted to use them as picture captions, and in order to move them around the page in a flexible manner, I had to put them in seperate text boxes.

But of course that is unacceptable.

So today, dear readers, you will see a demo of me re-doing subheadlines!

The original, untainted, virgin body text (note how the subheadline is now INSIDE the main body text):

Highlight the whole thing, or just click anywhere on that paragraph. InDesign classifies anything that has been seperated by the Enter key a paragraph.

Predictably, I forgot the original numbers you had to insert between the Subheadline and Body Text. Screw that. Graphic designers improvise. In this case I put 0p9 because it looks amazing.

The final result:

Can we have a round of applause for me?

bottom of page