top of page

Neon Bottles (and Fish)

Say your new advertisement is below what the budget allows, and you don't have time to actually splash water on bottles, or adjust lighting colours, or basically anything that takes more than half an hour to do. That's where Photoshop comes in, my friend.

First, here are our original components: a bottle, a short fat glass, and a tall slim glass who was probably prom queen in high school. We want to combine all of that into one awesome (and cheap!) image.

Adjust your Brush size, hardness, opacity yadda yadda. Remember you can always adjust the size quickly by using the [ and ] keys.

Let's brush over this bottle, make it look a little classier. Okay, technically this isn't neon, but it's still cool. Oh, and will you look at that! The clock just turned 00:10. Happy June, everybody!

I should just let my screenshots tell the story and save some finger exercise. My fingers are already skinny enough as they are. Is there a finger slimming or fattening exercise regime? Will look into this.

Look at that shizz. Mustard and ketchup.

Adjusting the layer blend mode.

Get your layers in check.

Layer masks.

Saturation, or lack thereof.

Another layer blend change. Seriously, I should just take a screenshot every five seconds and let them do the job.

Combine all the components together and VOILA!

Okay, let's do some fish now, because why not.

And WALLA! Neon fish. I wish you could real-ify some Photoshop objects. I would totally keep that fish and not eat it.

You'd think this would be useful in my upcoming neon strobe post, but I didn't think of it at the time (or I was doing the same thing but didn't label it as such). Anyway, short exercise, loved the fish, do you think I can find it in the black market?

bottom of page